Maple Bacon Upside Down Cake

 

 

Yes I went there.  I followed this recipe for the topping and technique, but I didn’t want to use a cake mix so I used this cake recipe instead. This resulted in the use of 3 sticks of butter, one tub of sour cream, 3 cups of sugar (white and brown), and, you know – bacon.

Some ingredients (this is my favorite kind of bacon):

DSC04210

 

Cooking pecans in bacon grease, then with maple syrup, brown sugar, and vanilla:

DSC04212

The topping and melted butter:

 DSC04213

 

Mixing up the sour cream cake:

DSC04214

Ready to go in the oven!

DSC04215Out of the oven, with a toddler in the background eating grapes

DSC04217

Flipped!

DSC04218

Top with bacon and scrape the rest of the topping out of the pan . . .whoops . . .

DSC04220

 

Look at this amazingness!

DSC04222DSC04221

Oh my yummies . . . 

DSC04225DSC04226

 

Shout outs to my parents for some of the supplies and the use of their kitchen, my Mom for taking it out of the oven and scraping the topping, and Brian for holding the bowl while I poured the batter since I had a baby wrapped up on me!

If I did it again I would try putting the bacon in with the gooey topping so it would be more mixed in, but I think the recipe had the directions this way so the bacon didn’t get overcooked.  

It’s so good and completely decadent!

Leave a Reply

